Articles, especially “peer reviewed” ones, are written by researchers, professors and other experts.
We recommend articles because they will help you answer your research question and because they represent the type of research and writing you should be aiming for in your own assignment.
You might also find an article that disagrees with your argument. Incorporating “dissenting” sources into your paper and debating their merit with your other supporting sources is exactly what scholarship is about! Scholarly writing is a conversation and a debate between your ideas and your sources.
Remember that accuracy and quality of information matters.
Article databases act like search engines for scholarly articles, magazine and newspapers. They can help you…..
search for subject-specific articles
get the full text of the article for free. Click on the “Full Text” or the "Find it" button in the results to connect to the full text.
cite the article you find in APA, MLA etc., (look for the “cite” button or link)
Full Text in PDF or HTML (Just look for the “Full Text Link” or the “GET IT” link).
Narrow your results to only “Peer Reviewed”
Email the Article to yourself
Show you how to Cite your article in APA (or another citation style you need)
Here’s an example from our ProQuest Database:
1. “Search Everything” is the search box located on RULA’s homepage.
2. Type in your keywords
3. “Search Everything” lets you limit your search by peer reviewed articles (look on the left side of your screen)
4. When you see an article you’d like to read - click on the “full text” link.