Use Engineering Village to search Compendex, Inspec, and Geobase.
The databases on the platform cover peer-reviewed engineering journals (many also supplying articles in press), conference proceedings, dissertations*, trade publications, patents and government reports across hundreds of engineering disciplines. *Note that certain content types, such as dissertations, are not accessible in every database. [Elsevier recommends using Firefox or Internet Explorer on Windows for the best search experience.]
See more information Training Videos
Using Engineering Village Get Started Guide
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
GEOBASE® is a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. Covering thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series and conference proceedings, GEOBASE has the most international coverage of any database in the field.
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 90,000 references a year. The database contains over 2.9 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Inspec includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics.
Scopus offers access to more that 14,000 scholarly titles including approximately 750 conference proceedings, all journals in Medline, 400 trade publications and also approximately 500 Open Access Journals. In development for more than two years with the collaborative efforts of 300 librarians and researchers, Scopus covers the content of over 4,000 international scientific, technical, medical and social science publishers.
For information on Scopus APIs, go Elsevier website
Web of Science is the online version of the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Users can search 8,500 international research journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. The Web of Science also provides cited reference searching
Use the Browse option to review a list of books by subject, or just use the search by keywords to look up data, properties and other information. When searching for data, use the interactive graphs and equations to get exactly the values you need.
Ryerson has access to the Morgan & Claypool Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science Collections 1-6. The basic component of the library is a 50- to 100-page “Lecture”; a self-contained electronic book that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by an expert contributor to the field. They offer unique value to the reader by providing more analysis and depth than the typical research journal article. They are also more dynamic and convenient than traditional print or digital handbooks, contributed volumes, and monographs. Each title is self contained in an individual PDF file.
The ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) Digital Library provides you instant access to the digital edition of nearly every ASTM International book and paper spanning 140+ industries and 100+ years.
The Canadian Standards Association is a not-for-profit membership-based association serving business, industry, government and consumers in Canada and the global marketplace. A subset of CSA Standards are available electronically. (Please note you will need to download plugins from the website). If you are interested in any CSA Standards, please contact your subject librarian to request a purchase.
Search Everything lets you search across the majority of the Library's articles, books, videos, etc. If you would like to search more specialized resources, try our A-Z list and filter by subject.