Use Engineering Village to search Compendex, Inspec, and Geobase.
The databases on the platform cover peer-reviewed engineering journals (many also supplying articles in press), conference proceedings, dissertations*, trade publications, patents and government reports across hundreds of engineering disciplines. *Note that certain content types, such as dissertations, are not accessible in every database. [Elsevier recommends using Firefox or Internet Explorer on Windows for the best search experience.]
See more information Training Videos
Using Engineering Village Get Started Guide
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
GEOBASE® is a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. Covering thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series and conference proceedings, GEOBASE has the most international coverage of any database in the field.
Inspec includes bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics.
CEDB is a free bibliographic database offering over 200,000 records of all publications by American Society of Civil Engineers. It is updated at
the end of each month. The update includes the journal content for the following month and all other content published in the previous month.
Scopus offers access to more that 14,000 scholarly titles including approximately 750 conference proceedings, all journals in Medline, 400 trade publications and also approximately 500 Open Access Journals. In development for more than two years with the collaborative efforts of 300 librarians and researchers, Scopus covers the content of over 4,000 international scientific, technical, medical and social science publishers.
For information on Scopus APIs, go Elsevier website
Web of Science is the online version of the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Users can search 8,500 international research journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. The Web of Science also provides cited reference searching
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics, photonics, optoelectronics and imaging, providing unprecedented access to more than 200,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new technical papers are added annually.
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection and Technology Collection databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. For researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
ASFA 3 is the only abstracts journal devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers and estuaries. ASFA 3 contains information that will prove essential to specialists who deal in any capacity with aquatic environments and marine pollution problems, including biologists, oceanographers, limnologists, environmental engineers and scientists, industrial engineers, waste managers, corporate regulatory affairs managers and government officials.
Search Everything lets you search across the majority of the Library's articles, books, videos, etc. If you would like to search more specialized resources, try our A-Z list and filter by subject.
The MSDS database is a collection of over 96,000 Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDSs) for chemical products. It contains the complete text of MSDSs exactly as contributed by more than 600 manufacturers and suppliers.
Transportation practitioners, researchers, public officials, and other professionals need credible, high-quality information and research results to address the transportation challenges of the 21st century.
The Transportation Research Board engages professionals worldwide in a broad range of interdisciplinary, multimodal activities to lay the foundation for innovative transportation solutions.
National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings 2011 by Canadian Commission on Building and Fire CodesThe National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings 2011 (NECB) provides minimum requirements for the design and construction of energy-efficient buildings and covers the building envelope, systems and equipment for heating, ventilating and air-conditioning, service water heating, lighting, and the provision of electrical power systems and motors. It applies to new buildings and additions. It does not apply to farm buildings nor to housing and smaller buildings covered in Part 9 of the National Building Code of Canada (NBC).
The ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) Digital Library provides you instant access to the digital edition of nearly every ASTM International book and paper spanning 140+ industries and 100+ years.
Find also the Registry of product evaluations. The Canadian Construction Materials Centre (CCMC), which operates within the National Research Council of Canada, offers a national evaluation service for all types of innovative building construction materials, products, systems and services. CCMC evaluations are supported by the latest technical research and expertise and are based on the requirements of the National Building Code of Canada or Provincial/Territorial Building Codes.
Webinar and Publication from Transportation Research Board highlighting best practices in Literature Searches for Literature reviews.
TRB Electronic Circular E-C194: Literature Searches and Literature Reviews for Transportation Research Projects addresses the necessary steps for producing a high-quality literature review for a transportation research project. The circular explores how to conduct literature searches; where to search for transportation information; how to put it all together as a quality literature review; and what the definitions are for related terms.