Collections (Canada, France, Great Britain, United States)
Biographical, National & Regional (Canada, Great Britain and Scotland, France, Belgium, Denmark, United States)
Library Catalogues (Canada, Great Britain, United States)
Cote de la photographie de collection. Paris: D. Nosek, 1995.
Biblio de la photographie de collection: Cote du livre illustré par la photographie. Paris: Anon, 1993.
Boni, Albert, editor.
European Society for the History of Photography.
Johnson, William S. Nineteenth-Century Photography: An Annotated Bibliography, 1839-1879. Boston, Mass.: G.K. Hall, 1990.
Lambrechts, Eric and Luc Salu. Photography and Literature: An International Bibliography of Monographs. London, England ; New York, NY, : Mansell, 1992. 2 vols.
Palmquist, Peter E., editor; foreword by Martha A. Sandweiss. Photographers: A Sourcebook for Historical Research: Featuring Richard Rudisill's Directories of Photographers, An Annotated Bibliography. 2nd edition. Nevada City, California: Carl Mautz Pub., 2000.
Roosens, Laurent and Luc Salu. History of Photography [electronic resource]: A Bibliography of Books. Edited by Anne Muller. [ England?]: Cirius Cybernetics, 2003
Sennett, Robert S. Photography and Photographers to 1900: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland Press, 1985.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). [Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealers’ catalogues, and periodicals. Now superseded by the International Bibliography of Art. Coverage 1991 to 2007. Superseded Répertoire d’art et d’archéologie (1973-1989) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l’art (RILA) (1975-1989)]. The Getty Research Institute hosts BHA and RILA, which can be searched online. Coverage for these two databases is 1975 to 2007.
ARTbibliographies Modern. [Indexes and abstracts of periodicals, publications, exhibition catalogues, dissertations, and exhibition reviews from the late 19th century onwards. Coverage: late 1960s to the present].
PhotoLit [Internet databank of photographic literature published since 1839. As of February 2004, PhotoLit listed ca. 27.500 entries (c. 45 MB) of books, periodicals and periodical articles].
Luminous-Lint: For collectors and Connoisseurs of Fine Photographs [Internet web site dedicated to “creat[ing] the world‘s leading collaborative knowledge-base for the history of photography showing significant vintage and contemporary photography”].
Snelling, Henry Hunt. A Dictionary of the Photographic Art: Forming A Complete Encyclopedia of All the Terms, Receipts, Processes, Apparatus, and Materials in the Art; Together with a List of Articles of Every Description Employed in its Practice. New York: Snelling, 1853. Reprinted New York: Arno Press, 1979.
Sutton, Thomas and George Dawson. A Dictionary of Photography. London: Low & Marston, 1867.
Woodbury, Walter E. The Encyclopedic Dictionary of Photography: Containing over Two thousand References and Five Hundred Illustrations. New York: Scovill & Adams, 1898. Reprinted New York: Arno Press, 1973.
Jones, Bernard E. editor. Cassell's Cyclopaedia of Photography. London and New York: Cassell, 1973, 1911. Reprint with an introduction by Peter C. Bunnell and Robert Sobieszek as Encyclopedia of Photography. New York: Arno Press, 1974.
Morgan, Willard D., editor. The Complete Photographer: A Complete Guide to Amateur and Professional Photography (1941-?). Reprinted as The Encyclopedia of Photography (New York: Educational Alliance, 1943). Revised and reprinted as The Encyclopedia of Photography : The Complete Photographer: The Comprehensive Guide and Reference for All Photographers (New York: Greystone Press, 1974).
Purves, Frederick, editor. The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography. New York: Focal Press, 1956.
Focal Encyclopedia of Photography. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1969.
International Center of Photography. The International Center of Photography Encyclopedia of Photography. New York: Crown Publishers, 1984.
Auer, Michel and Auer, Michèle. Photographers Encyclopedia International from 1839 to the Present / Encyclopédie internationale des photographes de 1839 à nos jours. Hermonce [Switzerland]: Éditions Camera Obscura, 1985.
Photographers Encyclopedia International from its Beginnings to the Present/ Encyclopédie internationale des photographes des débuts à nos jours. Neuchâtel [Switzerland] : Ides et calendes, 1997.
Beaton, Cecil and Gail Buckland. Magic Image: The Genius of Photography from 1839 to the Present Day. London: Weidenfeld and Nicolson, 1975.
Browne, Turner and Elaine Partnow. Macmillan Biographical Encyclopedia of Photographic Artists and Innovators. New York and London: Macmillan, 1983.
Carole Naggar. Dictionaire des photographes. Paris: Éditions du Seuil, 1982.
Palmquist, Peter E. editor. A Bibliography of Writings by and About Women in Photography, 1850-1990. 2nd edition. Arcata, California: Peter E. Palmquist, 1994.
Willis, Deborah. Black Photographers, 1840-1940: An Illustrated Bio-bibliography. New York : Garland, 1985.
An Illustrated Bio-Bibliography of Black Photographers, 1940-1988. New York : Garland, 1989.
Getty Union List of Artists’ Names Online [web site]
Répertoire des collections de photographies en France. 6th edition. Paris: Service Iconographique / La documentation française, 1990.
Gillian, Grant. Middle Eastern Photographic Collections in the United Kingdom. Durham: Middle Eastern Libraries Committee, 1989.
McQuaid, James, editor. An Index to American Photographic Collections: Compiled at the International Museum of Photography at the George Eastman House. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1982.
Eskind, Andrew H., editor; Greg Drake, Kirsti Ringger, Lynne Rumney, associate editors. Index to American photographic collections: compiled at the International Museum of Photography at George Eastman House. 3rd enl. edition. New York : G.K. Hall ; London; Toronto : Prentice Hall International, 1996.
Eskind, Andrew H., editor; Greg Drake, Kirsti Ringger, Lynne Rumney, associate editors. International Photography : George Eastman House Index to Photographers, Collections, and Exhibitions. 4th edition. New York : G.K. Hall ; London; Toronto : Prentice Hall International, 1998. [3 volumes: vol. 1. Photographers; vol. 2. Collections; vol. 3. Exhibitions]
Roark, Carol E., Paula Ann Stewart, and Mary Kennedy McCabe. Catalogue of the Amon Carter Museum Photography Collection. Fort Worth, Texas: Amon Carter Museum, 1993.
O'Connor, Diane Vogt. Guide to Photographic Collections at the Smithsonian Institution. Washington and London: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1989. 4 vols. v. 1. National Museum of American History -- v. 2. National Museum of Natural History, National Zoological Park, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute -- v. 3. Cooper-Hewitt Museum, Freer Gallery of Art, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, National Museum of African Art, National Museum of American Art, National Portrait Gallery, Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Office of Horticulture -- v. 4. National Air and Space Museum.
George Eastman House, Rochester, New York. On-line catalogue.
Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center at the University of Texas at Austin. On-line catalogue.
Prints and Drawing Division, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. On-line catalogue.
St. Andrews University Libraries, Special Collections. On-line catalogue.
Koltun, Lilly, editor. Private Realms of Light: Amateur Photography in Canada, 1839-1940. Markham, Ontario: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 1984.
Sara Stevenson and A. D. Morrison-Low. Scottish Photography: A Bibliography,1839-1989. Edinburgh: Salvia Books, 1990.
J. M. Voignier. Répertoire des photographes de France au dix-neuvième siècle. Chevilly-Luce [France]: Le Pont de pierre, 1993.
Joseph, Steven F., Tristan Schwilden, and Marie-Christine Claes. Directory of Photographers in Belgium, 1839-1905. Antwerp: Museum voor Fotografie, 1997. 2 vols.
Ochsner, Bjørn. Fotografer I Og Fra Danmark Til Og Med År 1920 / Photographers in and from Denmark up to and including 1920 / Fotografen in und aus Dänemark bis Einschliesslich 1920 / Les Photograpes au et du Danemark jusqu'en 1920 inclus. Ballerup, [Denmark] : Bibliotekscentralens Forlag, 1986. 2 vols.
Mautz, Carl. Preface by Richard Rudisill. Biographies of Western Photographers: A Reference Guide to Photographers Working in the 19th Century American West. Nevada City, California: Carl Mautz Publishing, 1997.
Palmquist, Peter E. and Thomas R. Kailbourn. Pioneer Photographers of the Far West: A Biographical Dictionary, 1840-1865. Stanford, California: Stanford University Press, 2000.
Libraries of Canada (AMICUS). On-line catalogue.
The British Library, London. On-line catalogue.
The British Library, London. Catalogue of photographically illustrated books. [This web site provides a catalogue of photographically illustrated books published between 1839 and 1914 in the Library’s holdings].
Victoria & Albert Museum, National Art Library. On-line catalogue.
New York Public Library. Research Libraries. Photographica: A Subject Catalog of Books on Photography, Includes Books, Pamphlets, and Selected Periodical Articles on Still Photography and Allied Topics. Drawn from the Holdings of the Research Libraries of the New York Public Library Aster, Lenox and Tilden Foundations. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1984.
Van Haaften, Julia. " 'Original Sun Pictures.' A Check List of the New York Public Library's Holdings of Early Works Illustrated with Photographs, 1844-1900." Bulletin of the New York Public Library 80, no. 3 (Spring 1977): 355-413.
International Museum of Photography at George Eastman House. Library. Library Catalog of the International Museum of Photography at George Eastman House. 4 vols. Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall, 1982.
Columbia University. Libraries. A catalogue of the Epstean Collection on the History and Science of Photography and its Applications especially to the Graphic Arts. New York : Columbia University Press, 1937. Reprinted with an introduction by Beaumont Newhall. Pawlet, Vermont: Helios, 1972.
The Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. On-line catalogue.
Flukinger, Roy. Windows of Light: A Bibliography of the Serials Literature Within the Gernsheim and Photography Collections of the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center. Austin, Texas: Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin, 1994.
Sennett, Richard. The Nineteenth-Century Photographic Press : A Study Guide. New York : Garland Pub., 1987.
Karia, Bhupendra, editor. The Artronix Index: Photographs at Auction, 1952-1984. New York, Artronix, 1986.
Edwards, Gary. International Guide to Nineteenth-Century Photographers and Their Works: Based on Catalogues of Auction Houses and Dealers. Boston, Massachusetts: G.K. Hall, 1988.
National Gallery of Canada. On-line index of auction catalogues.
Barger, M. Susan, compiler. Preface by Larry Booth. Bibliography of Photographic Processes in Use Before 1880: the Materials, Processing, and Conservation. Rochester, New York: Graphic Arts Research Center, Rochester Institute of Technology, 1980.
Bridson, Gavin and Geoffrey Wakeman. Printmaking and Picture Printing: A Bibliographical Guide to Artistic and Industrial Techniques in Britain 1750-1900. Oxford: The Plough Press; Williamsburg, Virginia: The Bookpress, 1984.
Nadeau, Luis. Encyclopedia of Printing, Photographic, and Photomechanical Processes: A Comprehensive Reference to Reproduction Technologies containing Invaluable Information on over 1500 Processes. Fredericton, N.B.: Atelier Luis Nadeau, 1997.
Reilly, James M. Care and Identification of 19th-Century Photographic Prints. Rochester: Eastman Kodak Company, 1986.
Eskind, Andrew H., editor; Greg Drake, Kirsti Ringger, Lynne Rumney, associate editors. International Photography : George Eastman House Index to Photographers, Collections, and Exhibitions. 3rd enlarged edition. New York : G.K. Hall ; London; Toronto : Prentice Hall International, 1996.
Taylor, Roger. Photographs Exhibited in Britain, 1839-1865: A Compendium of Photographers and Their Works / Photographies exposées en Grande-Bretagne de 1839 à 1865: répertoire des photographes et de leurs oeuvres. Ottawa : National Gallery of Canada, Library and Archives, 2002.
European Society for the History of Photography. "Selective Bibliographies. No 5. Conservation, Preservation, Restoration." Antwerp, Belgium: Provinciaal Museum voor Fotograife, n.d.
Hendriks, Klaus B. The Preservation and Restoration of Photographic Materials in Archives and Libraries: A RAMP Study with Guidelines. Paris : General Information Programme and UNISIST, United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization, c1984.
Vance, Mary A. Conservation and Restoration of Photographs. Monticello, Illinois: Vance Bibliographies, 1983.
National Archives of Canada. Managing Photographic Records in the Government of Canada. Ottawa: National Archives of Canada, 1993.
Reilly, James M. Care and Identification of 19th-Century Photographic Print. Rochester: Eastman Kodak Company, 1986.
Schuller, Nancy S. Management for Visual Resources Collections. Englewood, Colorado: Libraries Unlimited, 1989.
Wilhelm, Henry Gilmer. The Permanence and Care of Color Photographs: Traditional and Digital Color Prints, Color Negatives, Slides, and Motion Pictures. Grinnell, Iowa: Preservation Publishing Company, 1993. (On-line version)
Weinstein, Robert A. Collection, Use, and Care of Historical Photographs. Nashville: American Association for State and Local History, 1976.