A Dictionary of Human Resource Management (E-Book) by Edmund Heery; Mike NoonThe authoritative source of precise and easy to understand definitions of words, terms, and phrases that are used in the fields of Human Resource Management, Personnel, and Industrial Relations, this new edition of the Dictionary of Human Resource Management has been thoroughly revised andupdated to reflect changes in vocabulary and usage.All the previous editions' entries have been reviewed, around 300 new entries have been added, and the existing entries thoroughly edited to reflect changes in the usage of terms, changes in institutions and official bodies, and keeps pace with the evolving HRM vocabulary. With over 1,400 entries,this new edition of the Dictionary features:* The latest terms and management buzzwords* Key theoretical terms and concepts from academics and consultants* Technical terms used by practising personnel/HR managers and trade unionists* Major policies, practices, and institutions* Jargon from the present and the past* Legal terms* Thematic categorization of the main concepts* Cross-referencing of entriesThe second edition of the Dictionary of Human Resource Management is a vital companion for students and practitioners in HRM, Personnel, and Industrial Relations.
Publication Date: 2017
The Human Resources Glossary (E-Book) by William R. TraceyThe fast paced world of human resources (HR) management, development, and utilization requires HR professionals to fill many roles and speak many "languages." The Human Resources Glossary answers the demand for a single authoritative source that compiles and explains the vocabulary of HR practitioners. This glossary defines HR terms and explains their context, use, and managerial implications in 56 of the most important HR areas, including benefits, compensation, disability, discipline, employee services, health care, organization development, productivity, hiring practices, employee testing, training, travel management, meeting management, and work measurement.
The Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management, Volume 2 (E-Book) by Jed Lindholm (Volume Editor); Karen Yarrish (Volume Editor); Aileen Zaballero (Volume Editor); William J. Rothwell (Editor)The three volumes in The Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management offer a comprehensive review of the essential issues and most important information available on the topic. Each volume in the encyclopedia contains contributions from some of the most celebrated names in the field of human resource management (HRM) and addresses the myriad challenges faced by today's human resource professionals. Volume 2 highlights human resource management forms. The book contains a tool that can be used to build HR forms as well as processing transactions and measuring effectiveness. The book's many field-tested forms can be downloaded, modified, and used immediately. The contributors also present a view of HR forms that help when planning for an audit and compliance activities and reporting on human resource effectiveness. The HR forms include: Interview Assessment Forms, New Employee Orientation Checklist, Blended Learning Program Review Form, Education Workshop Form, Talent Management Form, Job Analysis Worksheet Form, Manager Performance Evaluation Form, 360 Degree Feedback Form, Salary Change Form, Reporting Injury/Accident Form, Employee Disability Verification Form, Human Resource Metrics Form, and much more. The Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management gives human resource professionals the knowledge, information, and tools needed to implement the best practices in the field.
Publication Date: 2012
The Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management, Volume 3 (E-Book) by George M. (Bud) Benscoter (Volume Editor); William J. Rothwell (Editor)The three volumes in The Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management offer a comprehensive review of the essential issues and most important information available on the topic. Each volume in the encyclopedia contains contributions from some of the most celebrated names in the field of human resource management (HRM) and addresses the myriad challenges faced by today's human resource professionals. Volume 3 highlights three main topics HR professionals have identified as critical issues in today's workplace: Leadership and Learning; Strategy and Measurement; and The Evolution of Human Resources. Many of the articles in this volume provide an in-depth discussion of a current human resource topic while others introduce a new way of approaching a familiar HR challenge. Each article is designed to stimulate critical thinking and reflection. The topics covered include: Best Practices in Leadership Development; Leadership is Going Global; Web 2.0 Applications in Corporate Training; The Social Construction of Productive Organizations; Leadership Versatility; Strategy and Measurement; Strategic Business Partner Role; Human Resource Metrics; The HR Transition to Strategic Partner; Workplace Bullying; Lost Wisdom, Lost ROI; The Role of HR in Fostering Innovation in Organizations; Closing Critical Skills Gaps; Employee Engagement and Corporate Social Responsibility; The Implications of Situational Strength for HRM; and more. The Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management gives human resource professionals the knowledge, information, and tools needed to implement the best practices in the field.
The Oxford Handbook of Diversity in Organizations by Regine Bendl (Editor); Inge Bleijenbergh (Editor); Elina Henttonen (Editor); Albert J. Mills (Editor)In the last decades diversity and its management has become a feature of modern and postmodern organizations. Different practices have spread around the globe focusing on the organizing and management of inclusion and exclusion of persons and identities based on different genders, sexualorientations, racial and ethnic backgrounds, ages, and (dis)abilities as well as religious beliefs. However, although increasingly recognized as important, the discourses of diversity are multifaceted and not without controversy. Furthermore, diversity management practices have the potential toreproduce both inclusion and exclusion.The book presents the foundations of organizing and managing diversities, offers multidisciplinary, intersectional and critical analyses on key issues, and opens up fresh perspectives in order to advance the diversity debate. It also inspires new debates on diversity by encouraging scholars tobroaden their research agendas and assists students and scholars to increase their understanding of the field and its current discussions. The contributors are a team of leading diversity scholars from all over the world.
Call Number: HF5549.5.M5 O923 2015
Publication Date: 2016
Newspapers & Magazines
See below for a list of databases where you can find Canadian, US and global news. For more news sources, including historical archives, visit the Newspaper Research Guide.
This database offers access to the full text of several Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
US Newsstream is part of Global Newsstream. It enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
CPI.Q is Gale’s award-winning full-text resource specifically designed to provide instant access to the most requested Canadian reference materials. Covering a wide range of disciplines, CPI.Q is the perfect one-stop resource for researchers in need of information from Canadian-focused journals, magazines, newspapers and reference sources.
CPI.Q features a wealth of Canadian and international periodicals, Canada’s national newspaper The Globe and Mail, Maclean’s weekly magazine and Canadian News Facts as well as comprehensive encyclopedic reference material.