At this site, you will find a wealth of resources and assistance for small and mid-sized cultural institutions provided free of charge by the Foundation of the American Institute for Conservation and the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Part of the Image Permanence Institute (a department of RIT's College of Imaging Arts & Sciences), this database provides resources for identification and comparison of 19th, 20th, and 21st century photographic processes.
The Image Permanence Institute® (IPI) is a recognized world leader in the development and deployment of sustainable practices for the preservation of images and cultural property. IPI accomplishes this through a balanced program of research, education, products, and services that meet the needs of individuals, companies, and institutions.
PHOTOCONSORTIUM – International Consortium for Photographic Heritage is a non for profit association whose purpose is the promotion and enhancement of the culture of photography and photographic heritage. To achieve its statutory goals, PHOTOCONSORTIUM aims to promote, organize and manage conferences, exhibitions, awards and training courses as well as to carry out publishing activities.
The association participates, and promotes the participation of its members, in new projects and initiatives also in collaboration with third parties, including but not limited to participation in the Programmes of the European Commission. All the initiatives of the association are primarily devoted to serving the interests of its members. PHOTOCONSORTIUM is the expert hub on photography for Europeana.eu and curates the photography collection.
Not-for-profit film preservation group dedicated to the preservation, restoration and production of Latin American film with a mandate to: Ensure a bright Latin American film industry, producing In the present, for the future and preserving the rich heritage of its past.
The National Film Preservation Foundation is the nonprofit organization created by the U.S. Congress to help save America's film heritage. We support activities nationwide that preserve American films and improve film access for study, education, and exhibition.
Canadian Heritage Information Network. Browse resources aimed at helping cultural heritage institutions preserve their digital assets. Use items in the digital preservation toolkit to take stock of digital assets, to develop digital preservation policy and plans, and to implement digital preservation procedures.
The Digital Curation Centre (DCC) is an internationally-recognised centre of expertise in digital curation with a focus on building capability and skills for research data management. The DCC provides expert advice and practical help to research organisations wanting to store, manage, protect and share digital research data.
The DPC is an advocate and catalyst for digital preservation, enabling our members to deliver resilient long-term access to content and services, and helping them derive enduring value from digital collections.
We raise awareness of the importance of the preservation of digital material and the attendant strategic, cultural and technological issues. We are a not-for-profit membership organization and we support our members through knowledge exchange, capacity building, assurance, advocacy and partnership. Our vision is to make our digital memory accessible tomorrow.
MIT Libraries is pleased to be the host institution for the Digital Preservation Management Workshop and Tutorial. This expanded program is based on the workshop curriculum initially developed and hosted at Cornell University (2003-2006), hosted at ICPSR (2007-2012), and by MIT Libraries since 2012. The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) has supported the DPM workshops through four grants awarded since 2002.
NEDCC has provided education on digital preservation since the establishment of its landmark School for Scanning conference (now Digital Directions) in 1995. The resources offered here include tools developed by NEDCC as well as links to organizations that support the research and development of digital preservation tools, standards, and best practices
Audio Cine Film is a digital streaming platform with access to thousands of movie and documentary titles from film studios and producers such as Walt Disney Pictures, Touchstones Pictures, Hollywood Pictures, Pixar Animation Studios, Sony Pictures Entertainment, Columbia Pictures and MGM Studios.
Criterion-on-Demand represents a large number of feature film producers, including, but not limited to: Paramount Pictures, Paramount Vantage, DreamWorks SKG, Mongrel Media, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance Films, Miramax Films, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, The Weinstein Company, as well as a smaller number of independent producers. Our title selection includes 1920 classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features.
Will Criterion-on-Demand work on my mobile device?
All movies available on Criterion-on-Demand Digital Rights Management (DRM) for playback. Unfortunately, Apple’s IOS, Google’s Android, and Microsoft’s Windows Phone 8 operating systems do not officially support DRM – therefore Criterion on Demand will not work on a mobile device.
Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos. Ryerson has access to Master Academic Collection and World Cinema Collection. Master Academic Collection is a video collection of 39K titles, with many well-known producers, such as A&E, PBS,National Geographic, TED, and HBO Documentary Films. World Cinema has 1000+ foreign language films.
Kanopy is a streaming service that provides the platform to a host of educational video productions covering a wide range of subjects, from arts, humanities, health, business, education and more. The collection has over 20,000 video titles from various producers.
The majority of the videos are closed captioned and clip-making is allowed.
In response to COVID-19, all films on Criterion on Demand (including Fox films) are available remotely to Ryerson authenticated users until December 31st, please disregard any notices to the contrary within the platform.
Curio.ca includes news reports, documentaries, and archival material, as well as programs like The Nature of Things with David Suzuki, Doc Zone with Ann-Marie MacDonald, and Enquête with Alain Gravel. The portal has seven main subject categories – Arts, Business, Education, History and Geography, Health, Science, and Social Sciences.
MUBI is a curated streaming service for classic films. 30 films are available for streaming at any one time, with a new title added (and one taken away) each day. The focus is on classics, award winners, art, and international films. Film students at Ryerson are eligible for a free account, until they graduate, simply sign up with your Ryerson email address.
Canada’s public producer and distributor, the National Film Board of Canada creates interactive works, social-issue documentaries, auteur animation and alternative dramas that provide the world with a unique Canadian perspective. The collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction. NFB showcase films that take a stand on issues of global importance that matter to Canadians: stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more. Ryerson’s subscription to NFB education gives you access to 500 films not available to the general public.
This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 by Rick Prelinger in New York City. Over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division.
Prelinger Archives remains in existence, holding approximately 11,000 digitized and videotape titles (all originally derived from film) and a large collection of home movies, amateur and industrial films acquired since 2002. Its primary collection emphasis has turned toward home movies and amateur films, with approximately 12,000 items held as of Spring 2015. Its goal remains to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere.
ARTstor is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data; provides tools to actively use those images; and is a restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users
Gallica, from the Bibliothèque nationale de Franc is one of the major digital libraries available for free via the Internet. It provides access to any type of document: printed documents (books, press and magazines) in image and text mode, manuscripts, sound and iconographic documents, maps and plans.
FADIS is a free online image database and source management system developed by the University of Toronto specifically for image-based subject matter (art, architecture, design and moving images). Images are high resolution and include detailed catalogue records. Content is uploaded by participant institutions (including University of Toronto, Ryerson, NSCAD, OCAD University, University of Windsor and Fanshaw College) and students and instructors can use the system to search or browse for resources, create slide shows for presentation or study, or create and access course materials. Use of the images on the site is limited to research, private study, criticism, and/or review only. Access to the system is free for all students and instructors of Ryerson University, for access to the system email email@example.com.
The Getty makes digital images (about 90,000) to which it holds the rights or that are in the public domain freely avialble online. You can browse all Open Content images or use the search on the Getty Search Gateway and download images identified with a download link. Images used should be credited as follows: "Digital Image courtesy of the Getty's Open Content Program"
Google Arts & Culture is a non-profit initiative. We work with cultural institutions and artists around the world. Together, our mission is to preserve and bring the world’s art and culture online so it’s accessible to anyone, anywhere.
The JStor platform provides free access to a variety of institutional special collections to researchers, faculty, and students. Collections include: Albright College
Nicaragua Revolution: David Schwartz Collection, Carleton College Haldore Hanson’s China Collection (1937-1938), Chatham University Archives & Special Collections The Minor Bird Chatham University’s archive of their student-led undergraduate literary magazine, Eden Hall Architectural Plants and Drawings, Central Methodist University Archives, Notre Dame University- Louaize, Heinz Gaube Lebanese Architectural Photographs Collection, Lebanese Research Center for Migration and Diaspora Studies (LERC), Roanoke College Digital Collections, Salve Regina University Archives & Special Collections: South Kingstown Colonial Records...
, South Asia Open Archives, Smith College Special Collections: Rotman Stereograph Collection, Historic Costume Collection, Van Buren Antiquities Collection, Trinity College: British Theater Playbills, Hartford Collection: George Watson Cole European Postcards, Webster Collection WWI Photos, University of Pennsylvania: Marian Anderson Collection of Photographs, Philip H. Ward Collection of Theatrical Images, 1856-1910, Etta Winigrad Sculptures, Furness Theatrical Images Collection, Alumni Association of the Philadelphia General Hospital School of Nursing
The Los Angeles County Museum of Art has made nearly 20,000 images of their collections materials free to search and download without restriction. Users can browse the collection or search the by date, curatorial area, object type, artist or artwork name. Highlights of the image collection include 20th century fashion, Art of Africa, Contemporary Islamic Art, and photography.
On May 16, 2014 the Metropolitan Museum of Art announced that 400,000 high resolution digital images of public domain works could be downloaded from the Museum's website for non-commercial use. You do not need to seek permission for use of these images nor is there an associated fee. This initiative is called Open Access for Scholarly Content (OASC) and works covered by this initiative are identified by the acronym OASC.
The Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam makes over 125,000 images from the collection available, free of charge. To use them you will need to create a free Rijkstudio account to get started.
The account lets you create your own galleries and download images for your own use. The museum encourages you to create your own masterpieces from the images that you download and has examples of objects, images and videos created from its art works.
Search the Tate collection online. Tate holds the national collection of British art form 1500 to the present day, and international modern and contemporary art. Its mission is to increase the public’s enjoyment and understanding of British art from the 16th century to the present day and of international modern and contemporary art.