The RYERSON IMAGE CENTRE (RIC) exists for the research, teaching and exhibition of photography and related media. We are an active partner within the academic fabric of Ryerson University, the cultural network of greater Toronto, and the national and international artistic community. We develop rigorous yet inclusive programs for students, faculty, artists, researchers and curators, as well as the general public. we maintain a collection of photography spanning the medium’s history, as well as several artist and journalism archives—including the renowned Black Star Collection of twentieth-century photoreportage.
Special Collections was established to help support the learning and teaching needs and facilitate the scholarly, research and creative activities of the Ryerson community by acquiring and preserving photography, film and cultural history objects. We have a particular responsibility to help students and staff gain access to objects in niche subject areas and aid them in the interpretation of those objects. The Archives serves as the institutional memory of the Ryerson community. The Archives appraises, preserves, and makes accessible a broad range of primary source materials which provide administrative, academic, fiscal, legal, social, and cultural record of Ryerson University.
Ryerson Artspace is a student and faculty run gallery programmed by Ryerson University’s School of Image Arts that focuses on providing a venue for contemporary Canadian film, photography and digital artists. The gallery is located at the heart of Toronto’s art and design district inside The Gladstone Hotel on Queen Street West.
Formerly known as the Ryerson Gallery, the space was renamed I·M·A Gallery in 2010 after the construction of the new Ryerson Imaging Centre located within the School of Image Arts on 50 Gould Street. The gallery moved to its new street level space in the Gladstone hotel in September 2014 and reclaimed our original name with Ryerson Artspace.
Local Photography Collections, Galleries, & Museums
Since the AGO made a commitment in 1978 to collect photography in depth, its collection has grown significantly in numbers and in distinction, through major gifts and select purchases. The collection spans the history of the medium from the 1840s to the present day, and now includes more than 50,000 works.
Highlights from the 19th century include calotypes by British photographer Linnaeus Tripe, who photographed in Burma and in British India in the 1850s, heliogravures by 19th-century French photographer Édouard Baldus, and important holdings of the work of Charles Nègre.
Bau-Xi Gallery was established by Paul Huang in 1965 in Vancouver to showcase the many Canadian artists in need of gallery representation on the West Coast. As the oldest commercial gallery in Vancouver, Bau-Xi has been a central member of the Art Dealers Association of Canada since the early 1970s, and in Vancouver, a founding member of the South Granville Gallery Association.
Since its inception, the iconic Vancouver Bau-Xi Gallery has expanded to include Bau-Xi Gallery and Bau-Xi Photo in Toronto, and Foster/White Gallery in Seattle. Over the past 50 years, Bau-Xi Gallery has been recognized as one of Canada’s most highly regarded art galleries, with a reputation founded on adherence to the highest standards in quality of art and service to clients.
The Toronto Archives is the municipal archives for the city. There are over one million photographs of Toronto in our collection, as well as tens of thousands of maps, plans and architectural drawings. Browse a complete list of all the digitized photographs, in the archives, arranged by series. (James, William 'Smallest House' ca. 1913 William James family fonds, Fonds 1244, Item 82.14)
Corkin Gallery is recognized worldwide for its contribution to contemporary art discourse. By facilitating discussion among artists, writers, curators, museums and private collections, Corkin Gallery curates projects and exhibitions that contextualize the work of international artists with an historical trajectory.
Corkin Gallery represents a roster of artists whose works explore issues concerning the environment, identity, consumerism and narrative in a variety of mediums including photography, concrete abstract painting, digital media and sculpture.
Gallery 44 Centre for Contemporary Photography is a non-profit artist-run centre committed to photography as a multi-faceted and ever-changing art form. Founded in 1979 to establish a supportive environment for the development of photography, Gallery 44’s mandate is to provide a context for reflection and dialogue on contemporary photography and its related practices.
Gallery 44 offers exhibition and publication opportunities to national and international artists, award-winning education programs, and affordable production facilities for artists. Through its programs Gallery 44 is engaged in changing conceptions of the photographic image and its modes of production.
The Toronto Photographers Workshop was founded in 1977 when a group of fifty artists came together to address the lack of support for photography as an art form in Canada. Since that time, Gallery TPW has become an important focal point for a growing community of professional artists who are instrumental in the development and recognition of photo-based art. Over the past 10 years, TPW has expanded its media-specific mandate to address the vital role that images play in contemporary culture and to explore the exchange between photography, new technologies and time-based media.
Gallery TPW is a not-for-profit, artist-run centre dedicated to the presentation and critical investigation of contemporary still and time-based images, exploring the exchange between photography, film and video. Through a diverse program of exhibitions, screenings, performance, new critical writing and unique public programs, TPW is distinctive in expanding an awareness of the vital role that images play in contemporary culture. Committed to the development of a critical visual literacy, TPW programs have a strong investment in the creative potential of pedagogy.
The Gallery maintains an inventory of approximately 15,000 photographs with a special emphasis on works that define the documentary tradition as well as historical photographs from Canada. We also maintain a bookstore with a title list of over 3,000 books on photography.
The National Gallery of Canada is establishing the Canadian Photography Institute (CPI), a world-class, multidisciplinary research centre dedicated to the history, evolution and future of photography. Read more about the centre.
The CPI will position Canada as a global leader in the field of photographic studies and offer an active program, accessible collection, research hub and digital portal for academic and public engagement.
Built on the foundation of the National Gallery’s acclaimed Photographs Collection, the CPI will house one of the world’s most comprehensive collections of photographs and related materials, representing the entire history of the medium and revealing the most important stories of the modern era. With the finest resources and programs, the CPI will attract creative thinkers and scholars from far and wide, stimulate ideas and generate discoveries.
Institutions and researchers from all over the world consult the Notman Photographic Archives. Through its thousands of images - landscapes, well-known people, families, places, events, activities - these historically invaluable Archives provide a visual history of Montreal, Quebec and Canada from the 1840s to the present. As well as the iconographical data bank of some 1,300,000 photographs, the Archives include various items of early photographic equipment and accessories.
The Fratelli Alinari Museum of the History of Photography was inaugurated in 1985 by Sandro Pertini, at the time President of the Republic of Italy. This was the first large museum ever in Italy in which the history of photography and its instruments were collected.
The Australian Centre for Photography is Australia’s leading arts organisation, devoted to the practice and appreciation of photography. ACP presents major exhibitions, in partnership with city and regional venues, which showcase the work of significant artists for broad public access. We commission new works by contemporary photographic artists that we exhibit in intimate, bespoke galleries. All of our exhibitions are supported by forums and artists’ talks made available to the public.
The ACP Workshop offers an extensive range of courses and masterclasses for people of all ages to hone their skills and creativity in photography.
Established more than 40 years ago, in 1973, the ACP plays a crucial part in Australian culture by capturing our memories and framing our imaginations.
Gallica, from the Bibliothèque nationale de Franc is one of the major digital libraries available for free via the Internet. It provides access to any type of document: printed documents (books, press and magazines) in image and text mode, manuscripts, sound and iconographic documents, maps and plans.
C/O Berlin is a charitable foundation that has presented, since 2000, a cultural program with an international standing. The exhibition venue for photography and visual media shows works by renowned artists, promotes emerging talent and accompanies children, youths and adults on their journeys of discovery through our visual culture.
The Danish Museum of Photography was established by former photo merchant Sigfred Løvstad. About 1959, while simultaneously running his business in Herning, he started a comprehensive collection of cameras and equipment related to the history of the photograph. The self-governing institution The Danish Museum of Photography was established in 1983, based on the collection, which he donated to the museum. In 1984, The National Museum of Denmark deposited most of their collection concerning the history of photography at The Danish Museum of Photography in Herning.
The photography collection at the George Eastman Museum, among the oldest and best in the world, comprises more than 400,000 photographic objects dating from the introduction of the medium in 1839 through to the present day. It encompasses works made in all major photographic processes, from daguerreotype to digital, for a wide range of purposes, from amateur pursuit to artistic enterprise, from scientific inquiry to documentary record. The collection includes work by more than eight thousand photographers, and it continues to expand.
The Finnish Museum of Photography is the national special museum for photography, its job being to promote and foster Finnish photographic art and culture. The Museum, founded on the initiative of a number of photography organizations, began its work in 1969. The Museum is maintained by the Foundation for the Finnish Museum of Photography.
Fotografiska is an international meeting place where everything revolves around photography. Located in the heart of Stockholm, the museum has an exhibition space of 2,500 square meters, and features 4 major exhibitions per year and approximately 15-20 minor exhibitions.
Founded in Winterthur, Switzerland in 1993, Fotomuseum is a leading venue for the display and discussion of photography. Through exhibitions, publications, events, and the building of a collection (dating from 1960 to the present day) the museum explores the diversity of photographic media.
Our programme presents the history of photography with the ambition of visualising that history differently. We also seek to understand the rapidly expanding nature of photographic technology and aesthetics today, especially through our commitment to research and our engagement with young artists..
he Ransom Center is an internationally renowned humanities research center at The University of Texas at Austin. Our extensive collections provide unique insight into the creative process of some of our finest writers and artists, deepening the understanding and appreciation of literature, photography, film, art, and the performing arts.
The International Center of Photography (ICP) is the world’s leading institution dedicated to photography and visual culture. Through our exhibitions, school, public programs, and community outreach, we offer an open forum for dialogue about the role images play in our culture. Since our founding, we have presented more than 700 exhibitions and offered thousands of classes, providing instruction at every level.
ICP is a center where photographers and artists, students, and scholars can create and interpret the world of the image, exploring photography and visual culture as mediums of empowerment, and catalysts for wide-reaching social change.
The activities of ROSPHOTO, founded in 2002 by Ministry for Culture of the Russian Federation, embrace exhibitions, scientific research and educational programs. The Centre exhibits works of well known national and international masters of photography, as well as young talented artists working in the genres of contemporary art closely connected with photography: video-art, photographic installations, animation, experimental cinema.
UCR/California Museum of Photography, a facility of ARTSblock, provides a cultural presence, educational resource, community center and intellectual meeting ground for the university and the general public. The museum's explorations of photographic media through exhibition, collection, publication, and the web examine the history of photography and showcase current practice in photography and related media. T
o serve an audience that is multicultural, young and old, general and specialized, the museum presents programs that recognize the variety and complexity of cultural experience and explore the relationship between traditional expression and contemporary practice. The museum is vitally concerned with the intersection of photography, new imaging media, and society. Located off campus in downtown Riverside, UCR/CMP is committed to bringing the most challenging art to the widest possible audience.
The history of the photography collection in the V&A is closely connected with the development of the Museum as a whole. Its first director, Henry Cole, was an amateur photographer himself and a great supporter of the art of photography. He began a photography collection in 1856, the year that the South Kensington Museum, now the V&A, was established. Since then, the collection has grown to be international in scope and comprises over 300,000 images dating from 1839 to the present. Photography can be seen as a combination of science and art, in which advances in technique continually feed creativity and artistic achievement.
On 11 June 2001 the first large photo and camera gallery in Vienna opened. Founded on the initiative of a group of aficionados and collectors, it is a non-profitmaking association striving to widen the importance of photography and its development in Austria.