Skip to main content

GCM 710 -- The Art of the Book

This LibGuide was originally developed as a course guide with a focus on researching fine book publishing and book design. For winter 2019, there is a new page on researching books from the McGraw-Hill Ryerson Press Collection at the Ryerson University Li

Books and E-books at Ryerson

Keyword Searching in the Catalogue

Keyword searching can be very fruitful.

Search examples:

Browsing Library of Congress Subject Headings in the Catalogue

Browsing the Library of Congress subject headings index in the catalogue can be effective.
For biographical and critical works about specific book artisans, search by subject by the individual's name in inverted order (last name first). Search also for the name of a firm.

For works about a specific topics, consider headings that begin with the following terms:

Getting More from E-books

Increasingly, the Ryerson Library acquires books in electronic only formats.  These can be found in the main library catalogue and when using the Search Everything box.  Many of the e-books have virtual call numbers so you can link on the call number field and see both print and electronic books.  This will give you a more accurate understanding of our collection than just browsing the printed books in the library stacks.

Many of the e-books that we have access to can also be found in Scholars Portal Books, along with large numbers of books published prior to 1923 that are presumed to be out of copyright, and other works created using a Creative Commons License that allows free access.

The Internet Archive has many more freely accessible books, videos and sound recordings. It is especially good valuable for works printed in English prior to 1923.  The Hathi Trust Digital Library is another large digitization initiative with a lot of books and magazines that are no longer protected by copyright.

A Brief Sampling from Ryerson's Collection

More Resources From the Toronto Public Library (TPL)

The Toronto Public Library has an excellent collection that supports the study of English literature. Many scholarly works are only available at the Toronto Reference Library located on Yonge Street one block north of Bloor Street. These items generally must be used in the library. Some material is part of the vast circulating collection. Online databases and books are becoming more common.

Literature Criticism Online covers contemporary and classical literature, drama and poetry as well as children's literature.
Literature Resource Center is a database that is also available through Ryerson.
A TPL account is required for log-in.  All members of the Ryerson Community are eligible for TPL borrowing privileges.