Skip to main content

HIS 976 Senior Seminar VII winter 2021

History of Victorian and Edwardian London. Guide for use with Dr. Catherine Ellis's course.

RU Library Search Everything

RU Library Search Everything
This search engine searches for journal articles (chiefly those that are available electronically and subscribed to by Ryerson), books, e-books, theses and dissertations, and newspaper articles from some recent and a selection of archival newspapers. It indexes digitized content such as out-of-copyright books and journals that are available from sources such as The Internet Archive and The Hathi Trust.

Refine your search using the filters on the left.

For more advanced searching across a more targeted set of resources, you may want to try a discipline specific indexing/abstracting database or collection as listed in the next box.

Key Indexing Resources

The Proceedings of the Old Bailey from 1770-1913, detailing trials at London's central criminal court, are now searchable in C19 Index.

Digital Collections (Access for Ryerson Community Members Only)

Digital Collections (Open Access, Freely Available)

United Nations Treaty Collection
This publication provides information on the status of over 500 major multilateral instruments deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations (as of 1 January 2009) and covers a range of subject matter such as Human Rights, Disarmament, Commodities, Refugees, the Environment and the Law of the Sea. The number of treaties deposited with the Secretary-General keeps growing steadily. This publication reflects the status of these instruments, as Member States sign, ratify, accede or lodge declarations, reservations or objections. It is over one thousand pages in length and is published annually in hard copy (three volumes). The on-line version is currently updated daily.

Archival Newspapers

There are numerous digitization initiatives for local newspapers around the world.  See for example:

The British Newspaper Archive. Unfortunately RU does not have institutional access. Independent researchers may find it cost effective to purchase limited personal access. 

 

see also Carol Singer's archived guide at Bowling Green State University to Historical Worldwide Newspapers Online

Many of the papers that Singer's guide links to are versions from the de-indexed Google News Project. For example:

Vote 1909-1933 (London)