Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription which includes over 40 channels that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. To see full list of channels, click here.
AVON includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
The Emergency Temporary Access Service permits special access for HathiTrust member libraries during temporary disruption to normal operations, such as closure for a public health emergency. ETAS provides full text electronic access to over 85K in copyright print titles in Toronto Metropolitan Library's collection.
A preservation repository with millions of volumes digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, and HathiTrust’s partner institutions. Approximately one-third of the volumes are in the public domain and can be viewed in their entirety.
MLA Plus is the go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources. MLA Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook and features an easy-to-search interface, cross-linking of related material, and a split view that lets students see illustrations while reading corresponding content.
Access to the newspaper The New York Times through its native platform. NYT requires users to create an account. Click here for login instructions. Users will need to note that they will be required to 'renew' their account every year.
The Calgary Herald is the largest and oldest daily newspaper in Alberta. Its first publication was as a mining and ranch weekly in 1883 at the height of Western Expansion and the Nation Building period. The coverage gives insight into Canadian history in the early 20th century and important reporting of international, national, provincial, and local events. Other notable coverage includes the first Calgary Stampede in 1912 and the development of the petroleum industry in Alberta and throughout Canada.
The Montreal Gazette is Montreal’s only surviving English language newspaper, as well as the oldest daily still in print in all of Canada. Originally founded as The Gazette, the paper offers much insight into Canadian history in the late 19th Century as well as important coverage of international, national, provincial, and local events. Coverage includes past events of current historical landmarks such as the Notre-Dame Basilica of Montreal, Saint Joseph’s Oratory of Mount Royal, and the Old Port of Montreal. The paper gives insight into the commercial, social, and cultural life of the future city of Montreal.
More content has been made available, 2015-2019. Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is available, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to aid searching.
The Toronto Star is a multi-platform news organization that makes things happen. They inform, connect, investigate, report and effect change. The purpose of the Toronto Star is to keep customers informed about what matters most to them, to help make their life, community, country and world better.
To access this content, you will need to create an user account with Toronto Star. Go to Toronto Star – Account Creation and follow the instructions to create your own account. Please note, you need to use your Ryerson email to create the account