Skip to main content

Food History (HIS 903 fall 2020)

For use with HIS 903 Senior Seminar 1, Food History, Dr. Ian Mosby (fall 2020)

RU Library Catalogue

RU Library Catalogue searches for books, e-books, dvds, and other resources. It is a good place to look for known books, or when using the keyword search to find some relevant titles for an assignment. When you find a good title, open the catalogue record in order to identify the assigned Library of Congress subject headings that can be used to identify similar works.

Some useful subject headings:

Cookbooks
Cooking -- History
Cooking -- Canada -- History
Cooking, Canadian
Eating customs -- History
Food -- Canada
Food -- History
Food habits
Food industry and trade 
Recipes

 

Keyword search for name of a person

Edna Staebler
Julia Child
Madame Benoit
Nellie Pattinson

Keyword search for topic

food history canada

RU Library Search Everything

RU Library Search Everything This search engine searches for books and audio-visual materials that are also listed in the library's catalogue, as well as journal articles (chiefly those that are available electronically), theses and dissertations, newspaper coverage from some recent and a selection of archival newspapers, and digitized content such as out-of-copyright books and journals that are available from sources such as The Internet Archive and The Hathi Trust.

Refine your search by content type or other criteria including listing in the library catalogue.

Quick Facts

Encyclopedias and dictionaries

remain useful sources of quick information.  In addition to free sources such as Wikipedia, consider some of our licensed electronic content from publishers such as Oxford University Press, as well as printed items. 

Try keyword searches in the main catalogue using subject or topical terms and either dictionaries, or, encyclopedias

Example keyword searches:

cooking dictionaries
food encyclopedias
food dictionaries

Some Free Online Resources

Many books and journals that were published up to 1924 CE are in the public domain (no longer protected by local copyright laws) and available digitally from major sources such as the Internet Archive (https://archive.org/), the Hathi Trust, and from individual libraries, museums and archives via their digital collections. 

Here is a sample search using the Internet Archive and keywords Canadian cook book

Here is a sample search using the Hathi Trust digital library, with parameters Full-text, and, Full view only and the search terms Canadian cook book